Northwest Kansas Community Corrections and Northwest Kansas Juvenile Services Governing Board

Meetings: Held quarterly in Hays (Thirsty's) at 4:00 p.m. 

2024 Meeting Dates
March 14, 2024
June 13, 2024
September 12, 2024
December 12, 2024

The Board of Directors shall schedule meetings as necessary. The Board shall meet at least quarterly. An annual meeting shall be held the last calendar meeting of the year. Special meetings may be called, but public notice must be given at least 24 hours prior to any special meetings. Public notice of all meetings, including special meetings, shall be provided to and/or published on Host County Website, Host City Website, and Nex-Tech Classifieds.

The Northwest Kansas Community Corrections and Northwest Kansas Juvenile Services Governing Board is comprised of 17 counties in northwest Kansas, making up the 15th, 17th, and 23rd Judicial Districts including Cheyenne, Decatur, Ellis, Graham, Gove, Logan, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Thomas, Trego and Wallace Counties. This Board shall have all the authority, rights and responsibilities that would be given to an individual county under the Community Corrections Act, as codified in K.S.A 75-5290 and 75-52, 111 et seq. This Board is the governing body of Northwest Kansas Community Corrections. The purpose of this Board is to yearly formulate a comprehensive plan for the development, implementation, operation and improvement of correctional services in Northwest Kansas Community Corrections’ seventeen counties.


This Board consists of 18 or more voting members serving 2-year terms who shall be representative of:

  • law enforcement; 
  • prosecution/defense; 
  • the judiciary; 
  • education;
  • corrections;
  • community mental health; 
  • ethnic minorities;
  • social services; 
  • general public. 

The City of Hays has 1 Mayoral appointment to this Board.

Curtis Brown
Expires February 1, 2025

Appointments Made by Other Entities

  • Stacie Minson, Chairperson (Trego County)
  • Don Scheibler (Chief of Police)
  • Judge Tom Drees (Chief Judge)
  • Aaron Cunningham (Prosecution)
  • Shannon Schmidt (Smith County)
  • Daniel Thornton (Logan County Education Rep)
  • Rebecca Arias (Court Services)
  • Cathy Shaffer (Mental Health Rep)
  • Larry Townsend (Wallace County)
  • Abbigail Horn (City of Norton)
  • Richard Ress (City of Colby/Thomas County)
  • Alex Herman (Defense Attorney)
  • Kayla Hillbrink (Rooks County)
  • (Open) (Decatur County)
  • Neal Younger (Ellis County)
  • Robert Paxson (Graham County)
  • Richard Thompson (Norton County)
  • Renee Henke (17th JD Admin Judge, Osborne County)
  • Paula Hofaker (Phillips County)
  • Isaac Leblanc (Rawlins County)
  • Mary Ellen Welshhon (Sheridan County)
  • Linda Davis-Stephens (Chief Judge 15th)
  • Brendon Boone (Gove County)
  • Scott Showalter (Sherman County)
  • Paula Keller (Cheyenne County)