WaterSmart Landscape Awards

See pictures of the 2020 Award Winners HERE!

2020 title slide

2020 Nomination Form

Since 2016, one residential and one commercial property has been chosen to receive a WaterSmart Landscape Award.  The goal of this award program is to increase awareness of the importance of water conservation in the landscape and to recognize those in the community that have made great strides towards that effort.

A WaterSmart Landscape involves more than just watering plants correctly - it is actually the combination of several gardening principles that together create a landscape that not only conserves water but is creative and beautiful as well.  The principles of a WaterSmart Landscape can be found HERE.

To nominate a WaterSmart Landscape for consideration, simply fill out and submit a nomination form no later than June 12, 2020.  Finalists will be contacted to schedule an on-site visit.  Winners will be notified by July 6th and will be presented with a landscape plaque and a certificate during a regularly scheduled Hays City Commission meeting in July.

Past WaterSmart Landscape Award Winners:

Sherry & Dale Chaffin
Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority House
Theresa & Patrick Trapp
Kansas Department of Children and Families
JoAnn & Jeff Jordan
Commerce Bank
Laura & Ryan Haffner
Great Plains Dermatology
Joann & Eugene Fleharty
Hays Medical Center